There Is No Plan

Nobody Reads This Blog

Cats and Dogs Are Always Talking These Days. And I Hate It.

leave a comment »

I’m going to preface this post by saying it’s going to make me very, very unpopular. But because there’s no point writing a diatribe that’s not at least thought-provoking, here goes.

I hate talking cats and dogs. I hate lolcats and their as yet unnamed doggie equivalent. I hate all attempts to give animals human personalities and traits and voices. I hate every attempt to give a cat a light saber, or a dog a Darth Vader mask, or a Kalashnikov. I hate it every time a cat hits my screen. It has become a social media disease. It isn’t funny, it isn’t cute, it’s just really, really sad. And it’s not as if one can get away from it. Because so many good people do it, it’s part of one’s stream, like little squirly poops that get into the cracks of your sneaker soles, and bug the bejesus out of you.

Why do people do it? Why is it such a surefire way to build up a following of catpeople.

Because, and here’s the part people are going to hate, a lot of cat people, not all cat people, but quite a few of them are shy, retiring, socially fearful people who give their cats and the cats of others personalities so they don’t have to deal with the harsh realities of the real – social – flesh and blood – world. And naturally, they began to socialize with the animals that loved them, needed them, made them laugh. Not my idea of a good time, but each to their own.

In the old days, these people kept to themselves, they were cat people, a little alone, a little awkward maybe, but separate in their own happy world of cat and dog-dom.  But now they have an outlet through the computer, which has numerous social media outlets, and the ability to upload photos fast, and then caption them, and then broadcast them to me and the few people on social media who’d rather talk about substantial issues all the time rather than for only the rare times when we’re not having to endure humanized cats and dogs.

It’s a tribute, in a way, to the success of a media platform which puts the awkward recluse and the dinner party raconteur on the same level. But if there’s an annoying side effect, this is it.

I’m done. As I only use Google Plus, so feel free to uncircle me. I wish it didn’t have to be like this, but as interesting as the things you have to say are, I can’t take them or you seriously as long as you keep foisting your f’ing cat on me.

Written by coolrebel

August 7, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Posted in Washington

Leave a Reply

